Friday, April 18, 2014

Weeeee're Baaaaack...Happy T-GIF from your Boswellians!!!


We took a break on T-GIF last week because apparently large files don't travel well on them there internets...but we're back!

We're so excited about season four of Game of Thrones that we made a display for it in the store. And as if the good-book gods were smiling upon us, a really cool pop-up book featuring some of the most popular settings in the books and on the show arrived just in time!

Here's a little pop-up book (with POPS!!!) to get you excited for this weekend's upcoming episode.

Enjoy!


Monday, April 14, 2014

Children's Books to Look Out for with Boswellian Jannis


This month I've decided to focus on a beginning reader title and an intermediate title. I've felt for a long time that beginning readers are sorely overlooked, mostly because its dominated by formulaic series (Rainbow Fairies, Magic Puppies, etc.). 

 
But a few months ago My Happy Life by Rose Lagercrantz with illustrations by Eva Eriksson caught my eye. Dani is about to start school for the first time and couldn't be more excited. She's even got her brand new book bag ready to go. On the second day of school she meets Ella and the two becomes fast and best friends. Eventually Ella moves away and Dani is heartbroken. This is a beautifully written story of family and friendship with charming illustrations filling each page. This is a unique addition to the shelves of beginning readers and well worth a read. 
 


The second title is the intermediate book Under the Egg by Laura Marx Fitzgerald. Just before Theodora Tenpenny's beloved grandfather dies he tell her to "look under the egg." These mysterious words send Theodora and her best friend Bodhi on a journey to uncover the truth behind a painting hanging in her house. Is it truly a Raphael? Or did her grandfather steal it from The Metropolitan Museum of Art? This is an intriguing mystery in the vein of From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler and Chasing Vermeer


Thanks for checking out this months titles.

Friday, April 4, 2014

Hoppy T-GIF from Your Boswellians!!!!



Boswellian Amie noticed that the wind-up Fuzzy Bunnies and the wind-up Fuzzy Chicks had beef this week when the breakroom became the O. K. Corral...

Place your bets! 

Who will win?!


Poor Chickie. If only the bunnies didn't multiply so fast...or have fangs.

Pictured in the background: Battle Bunny, Little Chick, and Bunnicula.

Good thing we didn't throw Bill Hillmann* into the mix...

* Bill Hillmann is not only a former Chicago Golden Gloves Champion, he's also the author of the novel The Old Neighborhood and one heck of a talented storyteller! Don't miss him at Boswell on Saturday, May 10th at 7 PM!!! Here's a link to his fancy new book trailer.


Friday, March 28, 2014

Doing T-GIF a Little Differently...


Hi All! This week's T-GIF is a little different...instead of "Thank goodness it's a GIF," the theme is "Thank Goodness It's FINISHED," meaning today Boswellian Mel put together a display window for the Fifth Anniversary Celebration of Boswell and it's *finally* finished! Here's the pic. It's looks really neat at night, or as onw Boswellian put it: "It looks like birthday threw up all over the window, which is exactly what you'd want in a birthday display."

Mel says there are fives hidden throughout the window....


You are cordially invited to join us at Boswell Book Company on Monday, April 28th at 7 PM as we celebrate Five Years of Boswell Awesomeness. Boswellian and Owner, Daniel Goldin, will give a State of the Store Talk, there will be refreshments, and we'll hear from author Gabrielle Zevin as she reads from her #1 April Indie Next Pick, The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry, which Daniel calls "a celebration of books and the people who read them, write them, and sell them." 

Thank you for five years of sharing your love for books with us.



Friday, March 21, 2014

Happy T-GIF from Your Boswellians!


Shall we play a round of What's In The Box?


You know Brad doesn't want to play.
Working at an independent bookstore has it's perks. One of them is that occasionally, Chuck Palahniuk sends a care package. So far here at Boswell, we've opened boxes from Uncle Chuck that held demon masks, plush kittens, and monogrammed condoms.

To prove that, when it comes to Chuck Palaniuk, truth really is Stranger Than Fiction, here's the care package Uncle Chuck sent to Boswell this week:



(Editor's Note: this Chuck Palahniuk box heralds a new novel this fall called Beautiful You. Needless to say, we're looking forward to it.)

Friday, March 14, 2014

Happy T-GIF from Your Boswellians: A Story in 20 Book Covers...



It's starting to feel like spring(-ish) here in Milwaukee, so for your TGIF this week, have a Hitchcockian spring story with a twist told through the titles of twenty of our upcoming event book covers!!


And for more information on our upcoming events, see the events page on our website

Tuesday, March 11, 2014

Children's Books to Look Out For with Boswellian Jannis



Welcome to my first inaugural blog post of children's book to look out for! I'm going to focus on 4 books, three brand new titles and one slightly not so new. There's no rhyme or reason to why I selected these other than I like them and I think you will too. 

Hi, Koo!: A Year of SeasonsFirst up is Hi, Koo!: A Year of Seasons by Jon J. Muth. Jon J. Muth has written and illustrated many previous picture books, most notably Zen Shorts, Zen Ties, and Zen Ghosts. Hi, Koo! features Koo the panda and his two friends as he travels through the seasons of the year narrated by 26 haiku poems. As Muth points out in the introduction, he deviates from the traditional 5-7-5 syllable pattern of haiku poetry. He has also hidden the alphabet in every poem by capitalizing a certain word. His beautiful watercolor illustrations perfectly capture the tranquil, joyous and sometimes humorous moments that Koo shares with his two friends. The last page is a stunner with Koo sitting on a branch, his back to the reader, with a Cardinal sitting in a nest atop his head. The poem reads:

becoming so quiet
Zero sound
only breath.

This is a wonderful introduction to not only haiku, but poetry in general, for children ages 5 and up.
What's Your Favorite Animal? Next up is What's Your Favorite Animal? by Eric Carle and Friends. Eric Carle is a rock star in the picture book world. I'm not sure there's a child that doesn't know The Very Hungry Caterpillar by heart. I know that when I used to read it in storytime, children would inevitably recite it along with me. This book is something different. Eric Carle has asked 14 well know picture book illustrators to draw their favorite animal and explain why they love them. Steven Kellogg, Nick Bruel, Mo Willems and many others have contributed. My favorite is from Peter Sis, who explains why the carp is his particular favorite. The illustration accompanying Sis's selection depicts the three wise men as kittens riding atop a very large carp with wings. It's quite funny. Nick Bruel's entry is a graphic novel style illustration with Bad Kitty (of book fame) taking over the page and making it all about himself instead of the octopus. Children will enjoy the humor found within the pages of this unique book. Eric Carle is donating all proceeds from the book to the Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art, a museum that introduces children to the world of art and literature in Amherst, Massachusetts.
The Noisy Paint Box: The Colors and Sounds of Kandinsky's Abstract ArtI was an art history major as an undergraduate and am always interested in picture books that introduce children to artists. The Noisy Paint Box by Barb Rosenstock with illustrations by Mary GrandPre, is a terrific introduction to Wassily Kandinsky. Plus, the Milwaukee Art Museum is going to have a major exhibit of his art this summer. Here's my rec:

Wassily Kandinsky (nicknamed Vasya) is considered one of the first abstract painters of the 20th century. Before he achieved fame as a painter, he was a boy who loved to paint the colors he heard in his head. Although he loved to paint, he followed a career into the law, but the sounds of the colors never left. Kandinsky left the law and followed his dream as a painter and eventually went on to join the Bauhaus and form the Blue Rider group of painters. Barb Rosenstock's language and Mary GrandPre's illustrations bring Kandinsky's story alive with gorgeous sweeps of words and colors that swirl around the artist. This book makes a beautiful introduction to one of the 20th century's most fascinating artists.

The Silver ButtonLast up is The Silver Button by Bob Graham. Bob Graham has long been one of my favorite picture book authors having penned one of my favorite dog stories "Let's Get a Pup!" Said Kate. This time around the author has found beauty in the small and everyday moments of a young child's life. While Jodie is working on a drawing, her baby brother, Jonathan, starts to take his first steps. The story pulls out further into the surrounding community to other moments occurring within that exact same minute: a grandfather and his granddaughter playing in leaves, a baby being born, and a leaf from a pigeon floating down from its nest. This is a quiet and touching story. Check out some other Bob Graham titles while you’re at it: you won’t be disappointed!
Thanks for tuning in this month. I’ll be back next month with some more recommendations!